KCIAPM

LIST OF ACADEMIC ACTIVITIES IN THE YEAR 2016-17

- KAPCON 2016 DHARWAD : The 43rd Annual Conference of Karnataka Chapter of Indian Associa on of Pathologists and Microbiologists was organized by the Dept of Pathology, SDM College of Medical Sciences and Hospital, Dharwad (Karnataka) from 26th to 28th August 2016.The number of registered delegates for the CME and Conference was 425.
- 6th National Hands on Workshop on the diagnosis of Hirschsprung Disease and Allied Disorders, 11 th August 2016. St. John's Medical College Hospital, Bangalore

The 6th National Hands on Workshop on Hirschsprung Disease was conducted by the Departments of Pathology and Paediatric Surgery, St.John's Medical College Hospital on11th August 2016. This workshop was held under the aegis of Karnataka Chapter of the Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists, Medical Education Research Trust Karnataka and Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Karnataka. The workshop was attended by 35 National and International delegates from various medical colleges, national institutes and corporate hospitals. A workshop kit was given to each delegate; it included a CD with Manual for the Workshop along with artcles on Hirschsprung Disease and staining protocol for acetylcholineesterase stain.

 KCIAPM SLIDE SEMINAR The third slide seminar of 2016 was hosted by Apollo hospitals, Bengaluru on 8th October 2016. The moderators were

 Dr Swarna Shivakumar & Dr. Ramya P.Breakfast and Tea was sponsored

 by Apollo Hospital. Slide seminar was conducted at Apollo hospital, Level III training hall.

4. IX Annual State Level KCIAPM Undergraduate Pathology Quiz : The IX Annual state level KCIAPM Undergraduate Pathology Quiz was held on **5th November 2016,** in JSS Medical College, Mysore at Sri Rajendra Auditorium.

A total of 36 teams with 2 students in each team from 17 medical colleges participated in the preliminary round. Six teams qualified for the final round. The inaugural function began with rendering respects to His Holiness Jagadguru Dr. Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, & seeking blessings of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Deshikendra Mahaswamiji.

- 5. The Tumkur pathologists association a zonal branch of KCIAPM had arranged a talk on 9th of October 2016. Dr. Santhosh .K.V, consultant Pathologist, RV Metropolis, Bangalore was the guest speaker. Dr. Belagavi, Consultant pathologist, RMV hospital, Bangalore was the chief guest. Dr Santhosh discussed on various malignancies with an emphasis on the reporting formats.
- 6. VI Annual State level Pathology postgraduate Quiz 2017 Held at RRMC Bengaluru. Rajarajeswari Medical college and hospital, RGUHS, Bangalore in association with Indian association of Pathologists and Microbiologists, Karnataka Chapter(KCIAPM- Bangalore) have organized VI annual State level postgraduate Quiz on 20th, January 2017 at Kadamba Auditorium, RRMCH, Bangalore. 34teams from 20 different medical colleges have participated.
- 7. KCIAPM Interactive slide seminar Feb 18th 2017 conducted by Anand Diagnostic Laboratory Bangalore: Slide seminar of 15 cases were presented by PG students of different medical colleges followed by

discussion from the ADL staff. A talk on "Approach to skin biopsies" by Dr.Jayaram.N. Around 140 postgraduates had participated in the slide seminar. The slide seminar was followed by discussion on special and rare cases from other departments of ADL including Dr.Ajith (Department of Clinical and Imaging Services), Dr. Kavitha (Department of Microbiology), Ms. Smitha and Ms. Nivedha (Department of Cytogenetics) and Dr. Vidya (Department of Histopathology)

8. CME on Multidisciplinary Approach to Head & Neck Cancers in association with KCIAPM & MERT" CONDUCTED AT 4th March 2017 AT SDUMC KOLAR

About 170 delegates including consultants, teaching faculty, post-graduates attended and participated in CME. The delegates came from various private hospitals and medical colleges to name a few including, Kempegowda institute of medical sciences, PESIMSR, Kuppam, Adichunchunagiri institute of medical sciences, SRL Diagnostics, BMCRI Bangalore, Command Hospital Bangalore, ESIMC PGIMSR, Anand diagnostics, SRL Reference Lab, Bangalore, JSS Mysore, VIMS & RC, MS Ramaiah Medical College , MVJ Medical College, Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Medical college, Apollo hospital, Chennai, Sambharam medical college and Private labs Bellary.

9. KCIAPM SLIDE SEMINAR HOSTED BY R.V.METROPOLIS ON 16TH APRIL

The second slide seminar of 2016 was hosted by RV Metropolis Lab. The moderators were- Dr Ravikumar H N , Dr VaniRavikumar and Dr Santosh K.V.

RV Metropolis hosted the Interactive Slide Seminar on 16.4.2017. Ten interesting histopathology cases were chosen for the seminar. They included neoplastic lesions from Renal System, Lymphnode, Soft Tissue, Male genital System, Ovary, Hepatobiliary System, Skin and Salivary Gland. Forty five sets of H&E stained slides were distributed to all the Medical Colleges across Karnataka. Ten PG students from various Medical Colleges were selected to present the microscopic findings of each of these cases. This was followed by a detailed discussion, approach to diagnosis and differential diagnosis by the moderators.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

- 2 nd International Multi-Disciplinary Breast Cancer Conference and Updates.Organized by : Department of Pathology, Bangalore Medical College & Research Institute, Bangalore.Date: 14 th & amp; 15 th July, 2017 Venue: Dr Basavarajendra Auditorium, Bangalore Medical College & Research Institute
- 44th Annual Conference of Karnataka Chapter of Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists KAPCON 2017 will be held 30th Aug - sept 1 st 2017 at SSIMS, Davanagare

The KCIAPM EXECUTIVE FOR THE YEAR 2016-17

- 1. Dr Col U S Dinesh
- 2. Dr Shashikala P:
- 3. Dr Vijay Shankar S:
- 4. Dr Santosh KV:

Executive committee members

- 1. Dr Prakash CJ
- 2. Dr Sunila
- 3. Dr Purushotham
- 4. Dr Mahesh Karigoudar
- 5. Dr Meena N Jadhav
- 6. Dr Nirmala
- 7. Dr Aneel Myageri
- 8. Dr Tejaswi Krishnamurthy
- 9. Dr Kishan Prasad. H L

10.Dr Prakash HM

: President Vice President Secretary Treasurer

Editorial board members for e-Bulletin.

Editor in Chief: Dr Parshwanath H A

Editors: Dr Kalyani R Dr Umashankar T

Members: Dr Natarajan M Dr Kavitha GU

